ZSR Forums
April 19, 2024, 12:29:09 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: ZSR Forums are back - read only!

Home   Help Search Members Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 3
  Print  
Author Topic: Noob trying to get into MM running  (Read 34126 times)
HiipFire
Regular Guay

« on: May 09, 2012, 11:46:22 PM »

Hey, could anyone introduce into running this game?
Like help me instead of just dumping all the information on me.
Thanks in advance.
Norkix
Special Guay

« Reply #1 on: May 10, 2012, 12:31:35 AM »

Hey there HiipFire. I'm a fellow rookie (been here since mid-February), but I do have quite a lot of experience with MM. Here's what I did when I first started speedrunning.

First off, choose the version you feel most comfortable with. For me, this was N64, but it may be different for you. I will say that N64 has the advantage of easy HESS (Hyper Extended Super Slide), but it's totally up to you.
Second, practice practice practice for hours before you even start an attempt. Look over the tricks in the run and practice them on a completed file over and over until you get at least a 1 in 3 consistency with them. If you dont know how to do a trick, most of them have a page on ZSR, others can be found on YouTube. Practice is key.
Third, watch previous runs of the route you're going to attempt. This will show you timesavers that may not be told in the route. After learning the timesavers, practice them as well. Timesavers are generally easier to master than tricks, but a few are just as difficult.