ZSR Forums
May 05, 2024, 05:44:49 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: ZSR Forums are back - read only!

Home   Help Search Members Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: learning to TAS  (Read 6788 times)
canard
Regular Guay

« on: November 29, 2011, 09:36:42 PM »

I have a 9-year-old son who is a bit of a geek and has some programming experience (javascript etc). He is interested in how an OoT TAS is made. We have a windows XP machine, a relatively new mac and a linux laptop, and have no snobbishness when it comes to choosing an OS -- we'll just choose the best one for the job. I downloaded project 64 and mupen 64 onto the windows machine and both run OoT fine (we own two legal copies of OoT so I have no qualms about using a rom). What next? I have 25 years of programming experience including writing in assembly language, so have no fear of getting my hands dirty with hex editors or whatever. My son is young but a quick learner. I thought I could just google around to find the next step, but on the other hand I thought it was worth asking here first. Any help appreciated.
Enterim
Regular Guay

Email
« Reply #1 on: November 29, 2011, 10:21:25 PM »

Mupen64-rr (re-recording) is what you need to TAS. There is a specific version of it that fixes the pause bug for OoT. I don't have it on hand but you could PM SwordlessLink about it.
BottlesFTW
Regular Guay

Email
« Reply #2 on: November 29, 2011, 10:46:35 PM »

You don't need to know anything about programming language or stuff like that