ZSR Forums
April 19, 2024, 06:12:29 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: ZSR Forums are back - read only!

Home   Help Search Members Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: New to the forums. Looking for some advice.  (Read 4396 times)
dkplayaclub
Deku Scrub

« on: October 15, 2015, 12:39:53 AM »

Hello fellow Zelda fans. I am completely new to speed runs, although OoT is probably my favorite game of all time and I have beaten it, playing "normally" dozens of times. I was recently introduces to speed runs through watching Twitch streams and thought it would be a lot of fun to get into. So before I begin, I want to get some basic questions answered from people who know more than I do.
I currently don't have a working N64, so I decided that for the time being I would softmod my Wii and use that to get back into the game before I go and buy more equipment.

So, here are my questions.
1) Through VC, I can only get the US version of OoT. I want to begin with the Japanese version, as it seems to be the standard version used for speed runs. I am guessing this is due to the dialogues being shorter, but there might be other considerations. How can I get the Japanese version to run on my Wii?

2) Between version 1.0, 1.1 and 1.2, which version is recommended? I have been told they are all good for different categories of speed run. I plan on using glitches and doing 100% runs.

3) Other than any mods or installers I need to get the appropriate version running, are there any other tools I should get in order to make practicing/learning more productive?

Can't wait for your responses, and thank you in advance to anyone willing to take the time to read this and reply. I have read a few posts regarding these issues, but figured I would start fresh, especially since the posts I read were old and may be out of date.
whyieyesya
Special Guay

Email
« Reply #1 on: October 15, 2015, 12:54:43 PM »